1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The New Player Experience.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Redwing, Jan 19, 2019.

1. Redwing

Redwing Super Cool Bird

So out of curiosity, I decided to start a new account today in order to see what's changed for the new player since I started playing in April last year. Three-quarters of the way through Blue Forest in 30 minutes. So here's a few things for new players that might be helpful, and some trivia the more established might find interesting, if they didn't already know ;) Feel free to add your own tips.

Tips for newbies -

Pick 5 birds and stick with them. Of the rest of the birds you gather along the way, use only what you need to level up your team and sell the rest of the 1*-2* birds. You're guaranteed to at least get the watered down 3* versions of the Core flock, anyway, so it's not like you're going to bother keeping any of your starting birds on your team. As you move into the mid-game, you'll be swapping in 4* and 5* birds, so your 3* team is really just food acting as a placeholder for the team you'll replace them with.

Major Pecker's Daily Challenge (MPDC) opens up to you much earlier in the game for you than it did for most of us. Sell your anger and rage totems. They're not worth the cost to use them on early game birds. Even late/end game (not that there is an end), the value is questionable.

When you sell your birds, consider the gold to evo exchange ratio. You'll always get more gold over time selling birds individually. However, this is a very slow way to gather evolution materials ('evo mats' or 'evo'). Combining two L1 2* or 3* birds of the same colour nets less gold, but more evo. 1* birds are just way to uneconomical to combine, either with other 1*'s or 2*-3*'s.
    Current rates are for combining like/like:
    3* Base value: Level up cost: 40 gold. Result: L17 bird. Sell value: 59 gold. Evo: 46